Coming Up PR



Coming Up PR, Episode 3– March 16, 2010

The value of accreditation

Download HERE

Subscribe on iTunes HERE

0:32- Cheryl recaps mission statement, introduces this week’s topic: Accreditation in the Canadian Public Relations Society.

1:36- Cheryl explains what acceditation means.

2:57- Mary talks about the value of attaining APR.

5:48- Mary talks about the need for mandatory accreditation in areas like investor relations.

7:30- Mary poses a question to listeners: What do students and practitioners think about APR?

8:08- Mike displays his greedy nature and notes the money factor of APR.

9:18- Mary notes that we’re (definitely!) not saying those without APR aren’t qualified practitioners.

9:36- Mike poses a question to those who don’t have APR: Why haven’t you attained it?

12:36- Mary wants someone in entertainment PR (or a student interested in it) to comment on if they think getting accreditation is important.

14:59- Mary wonders if blogger relations needs to become part of attaining APR

16:08- Cheryl brings up joining professional organizations like the CPRS

16:45- Mike asks students why they are or aren’t joining professional organizations.

17:01- Cheryl ups the ante and specifically asks our classmates Ruxandra Catalina Dorobeti and Henry Dang what their thoughts are on joining the CPRS.

17:19- Mike wraps up the show.

Share

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 3 non-PR related activities that can make you better at PR pingbacked on 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. TOW Week 12- Coming Up PR « Lisa McLaughlin pingbacked on 7 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Ruxandra Catalina Dorobeti says:

    Mary, Cheryl and Mike,

    First of all, I must congratulate you on starting this podcast! And thank you for the nice words you said about me.

    Indeed, I am a member of CPRS but also IABC and IPRA. I didn’t join all at once, but one thing led to another. And, I have to admit, I am happy to have done so.

    Why I joined these professional associations? As Mike said, networking is one reason. CPRS and IABC often organize professional development seminars and networking events, during which a learning practitioner like myself has the opportunity to meet professional communicators, exchange ideas and learn more about the field.

    Also, there are many web resources offered by these organizations. For example, I am soon going to have the job of looking for a job. I already receive alerts from both IABC and CPRS about career opportunities and, although most of the are targeted at experienced practitioners, I am confident that, someday soon, a position that I can apply to will arrive in my inbox. Even so, before I start applying, I will take a look at both websites’ career centre and career tips, so that I am better prepared.

    But career advice is not the only thing, they also have webinars (some of them free to listen to), libraries and many interesting articles by different practitioners.

    There are more advantages, of course, these are just off the top of my head. It probably depends on each individual, what each considers to be valuable and important.

    I like being a member of professional associations. People (other members) are nice, very smart and always willing to help. And it gives me a sense of belonging. Knowing that I am part of something big(ger), that there is a place where I can find experienced practitioners if I need any advice, makes me feel better and embrace the profession I have chosen.

    Last but not least, on a general tone, I believe organizations like CPRS, IABC, PRSA or IPRA do give public relations practitioners more credibility. Even though not everyone chooses to apply for the APR or ABC certifications, I think that being part of a professional associations is another proof that public relations is a respectable profession.

    But that is just my (long) opinion. 🙂
    See you in class, ladies and gentleman. 🙂

    Ruxandra Catalina Dorobeti

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. I think the spirit and rationale underpinning APR are well intenttioned. PR has a terrible reputation due to some stupid and counter-productive practices folks have employed in the past and the fact that any charlatan with a blog and cellphone is able to say “I’m in PR”

    APR is an attempt to get around this. Like an MBA, an CFRE or any other accreditation lots of dummies have it. Many talented people don’t. Though i don’t have APR accreditation I think any education is worth getting provided it is used and not just done “for show”

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Flor says:

    I am actually thankful to the holder of this site who has shared this enormous post at at this time.

    | Reply Posted 4 years ago


Leave a Reply

